DeKalb Choral Guild Leadership

DeKalb Choral Guild is led by a dedicated Executive Committee and Board of Trustees recruited from within the singing membership and from the community at large. 


Board of Trustees


Executive Committee



Mary Gowing

Mary Gowing's musical and leadership expertise is very broad: she has been a singer/soloist with DeKalb Choral Guild for ten years and also lead vocalist and guitarist with Hicks with Picks Bluegrass band. By trade, she is a Jazzercise Instructor and franchisee owner in Decatur. When not working or making music, Mary serves on concert committee of the Decatur Business Association, is Elder and Deacon of Rock Spring Presbyterian Church, and also a founding board member of the 6 star refugee partnership.



Marlee Warner 
Marlee Warner is a CPA and has had a lengthy career in accounting and auditing in the metropolitan Atlanta area, specializing in the nonprofit field, and worked in the utility service business prior to that.  Besides joining the DeKalb Choral Guild as a singer back in 2002, Marlee has served the as Treasurer and member of the Board Trustees since 2011, and is married with two daughters.


Michael Morris

An organ builder by trade, Michael Morris has been a singing member of the DeKalb Choral Guild for many years.







Chris Owenby - Georgia Young Composers Festival

A renowned choral and instrumental composer, Owenby serves as Minister of Music and Other Arts at Kennesaw United Methodist Church, teaches music theory and composition at the Master's Academy in Kennesaw, and teaches piano and composition at the Harmony House in Kennesaw. He holds a Bachelor of Music degree from LaGrange College and, following his 2009 win of the Georgia Young Composers Festival, has conducted the DeKalb Choral Guild several times in concert.  


R.E. Breaux (Sheye)--President Elect

 Sheye Breaux



Charles Gowing


Helen Menefee



Other Leadership Positions

In addition to the Board of Trustees and the Musical Staff, the DeKalb Choral Guild relies on a number of volunteers to assist in its organization. Serving the 2016-2017 year:


Choral Representative to the Board

Bess Miller


Singer Section Leaders

Alto Section Leader--Michele Jones

Soprano Section Leader--Tama McGee

Tenor Section Leader--Rob Armstrong

Bass/Baritone Section Leader--Steve Stern



Kay Johnson


Audition Coordinators

Pam Kilmer

Pat Ziebart


Concert Program Notes

Rob Armstrong

© 2017 DeKalb Choral Guild
Connected Sound - Websites for the Barbershop Community